About Santorini


click on tthe image for a larger map

Santorini’s group of islands is consisted of Thera, Thirasia, Aspronisi, Palea and Nea Kameni (volcanoes) islets and is located in the most southern part of the Cyclades in the Aegean Sea, 63 nautical miles north of Crete.

The surface area of Thera is 76,19 sq. km and the population, including Thirasia, is 15250 people (2011 census) distributed among fourteen villages.

Latitude: from 36 19’ 56’’ to 36 28’ 40’’ N
Longitude: from 25 19’ 22’’ to 25 29’ 13’’ E

The present-day crescent shape of Santorini is a consequence of the activity of the volcano in prehistoric times feeding the myth of the lost Atlantis.

Santorini is essentially what remains of an enormous volcanic explosion dated back 3,600 years and which created the current geological caldera; a giant central lagoon, more or less rectangular, and measuring about 12 by 7 km (7.5 by 4.3 mi), surrounded by 300 m (980 ft) high steep cliffs on three sides.